Journey to Amsterdam – Week Eleven

Standard
Week Breakdown Nutrition Breakdown Other Considerations Comments
7th September

MON

Rest or Cross Training

7.19M ave pace 09:52min/mil

  • base rate of 1500kcals
  •   Think about how you feel.·  Weigh in
  • Make sure you’re getting enough water
3lbs lighter than the last time I weighed in. I feel musclier, if that’s a word

excellent run with buddy

TUES  VO2 Max 8M w 5 x 600m @5k race pace/jog 50-90% of the interval time inbetween

recovery and rest

  • +200kcals before run as carbohydrate snack
  • Keep fluids up
Need to keep stretching

2,701 calories

WED Medium Long Run 12M
  • base rate
  •  Report how you feel.
  • Stretching
 12.26M @9.30min/mil pace.
Felt excellent until nearly mile 10, then felt nauseated and dizzy. Heartrate was 214 so walked/ran home

2,102 calories

THURS  Rest or Cross Training

5M with running buddy, felt a bit odd in the middle but finished okay

  • +400kcals
  • Spread additional over the whole day and look to keep GI low when taking on carbohydrates.
  • ·  Remember to be taking on micro nutrients where ever possible.·
  • Don’t let fluid intake drop
ave pace of 9:11min/mil

2,059 calories

FRI Recovery + speed 5M w 6 x 100m strides
  • no change
· Maintain micro nutrient intake on rest days  Rested. By walking around Norwich for the Heritage Open weekend…

2,318 calories

SAT  8-15k tune up race (total 9-13M)
  • +500kcals
·  Stretch  Attempted a 17M run, got 2M in and heart rate was 196. Went home to rest
SUN  Long run 17M
  • +300 kcals
  • Keep drinking water and fluids
  • Try to retain the nutrient balance
  • Anti-Spasms
  • Stretch
  • Self-massage
 Rest and recovery.

1,196 calories (but that didn’t include dinner of filled pasta, olive oil bread and pesto)

This week has been a frustrating mix of good running and feeling rubbish. I’m definitely battling a virus but a low level one, so I feel fine until I try any sort of exertion, and then my heart races and I feel woozy and weak. Very annoying. I know that I need to rest to get better so I’m doing that. It’s hard though!

Also, I need to make sure that I change out of my running stuff quickly, I’ve been getting home and doing stuff lately, rather than having a shower and getting warm and dry straightaway. I think this has probably helped the cold. Lesson learnt!

Leave a Reply

