The Road to Stockholm – Week Six

Standard
Week Breakdown Nutrition Breakdown Other Considerations Comments
6 (MON 11TH MAY) REST
  • no variant
·         Gauge how you feel.·         Weigh in

·         Stretch just  to loosen joints and increase circulation.

 weigh in – 2lb more than last week

ave 2,069 calories

TUES IWU1M/I50m/E50m REPEAT 30min/CD1M

9M

  • No Variant
  • Look to form and bursts of energy at the intervals. Keep this even throughout the session
 felt brilliant, had protein shake slightly too soon before running but felt great – 1hour 25, 9:28min/mil ave

ave 2,213

WED ASLAKE COURT

REST

  • +200kcals
  • Take additional calories 2hr pre workout.
·         ·  Report how you feel.  ave 3,303 calories
THURS WU1M/T5M/I1M/E1M/CD1M (approx 9M)

COMMUTE

BOOK CLUB

  • +200kcals
  • Spread additional over the whole day and look to keep GI low when taking on carbohydrates.
·         Remember to be taking on micro nutrients wherever possible.·         Keep the tempo controlled and steady but don’t be afraid to push the pace  Cycled to book club and back too

ave 1,630 calories

FRI COMMUTE

1Mwu/I50M/R100M (REPEATx 20) /1Mcd

  • +200kcals
  • Same rules as always for commute days.
·            Race back, really push home  er.  one million calories – Cheese Club
SAT PARKRUNVOLUNTEER
  • +100kcals
  • If you choose to do parkrun then increase intake by 300kcal.
  • We want to ensure you don’t get burn out.
  • Anti-Spasms
  • Stretch
  • Self-massage
 ave 2,100 calories
SUN WU1M/ALTERNATING MP1M/E1M X 15/CD1M (approx 17M)
  • +600kcals
  • Please split additional between pre and post workout.
  • Keep practicing race day breakfast, snacks etc
·         Going into taper mode from this run

  • Set the watch but don’t get hung up on the exact pace. What we’re looking for is the difference between the gears throughout
 10M in 1:38m average 9:50min/mil

ave 1,879 calories

 

Well dear readers, this wasn’t a great week for me.

I stopped smoking five and a half months ago, and my asthma has actually got worse since then. I must be the only person in the world whose health declines after stopping smoking. I had an attack on Friday night with no triggers – we were in our house. My inhalers aren’t helping either, so I have this slightly scary ‘sore heart’ area all of the time.

I had an excellent mid week Tuesday run despite some chaffage (thanks, summer shorts – why must you always do that for the first few warm runs?) and I felt like I could run forever. Sunday’s scheduled 17M turned into a 10M because basically, I had lost the will.

Stockholm is in two weeks and I should be feeling strong and confident. Instead I haven’t managed to run longer than 14.5miles continuously since September. I’m not in a great place, I’m afraid – mentally or physically.

I don’t want to give up, but I feel like I’ve spent this whole year (and some of last year) frantically trying to regain my running mojo and it is a cruel mistress indeed.

I’m off to the doctor’s tomorrow about my asthma, hooray.

Any advice on how to get your mojo back and start loving running again?

Leave a Reply

