The road to Stockholm – Week One

Standard

This is what my week’s training looks like.

I’ll update this with comments at the end of the week. If I’m feeling extremely energetic, I’ll update it as I do each session. I ain’t promising, though.

Week Breakdown Nutrition Breakdown Other Considerations Comments
1 (Monday April 6th) REST
  • No difference
·         Take measurements and report any changes.  no food logged.

slept until 1pm, still jet lagged

Tues WU1M/I200m x 10/CD1M
  • +200kcals
  • Take additional calories after training session.
 Went to club instead, did pyramid session. Felt weak so had to stop.  Ave pace 9:10min/mil, fastest 5:02. 3.33miles

2,203 calories

Wed COMMUTE/ASLAKE COURT
  • +200kcals
  • Again take additional calories after training.
 2,226 calories

Cycling felt pretty good, tyres have been fixed

Thurs – BOOK CLUB CIRCUIT 2
  • no difference
 1,394 calories

cycled to book club

Fri 8M – WU1M/E1M/MP3M/T3M/CD1M
  • +500kcals
  • Use 500kcals for refuel after training the rest can be spread throughout the day.
·         This will feel a long day.  2,280

7.85miles

splits:

WU9:28

E1M 9:04

MP 3M 8:54/8:51/9:06

T3M10:00/10:15

CD1M 9:54

Sat RETESTING
  • +500kcals
  • fuel for half marathon
  • Spread extra throughout day.
·         Travel to London – try to stay off your feet 2,380calories

no retesting,train was earlier than thought. Will be rescheduled

Sun – FULHAM PUTNEY HALF WU1Mi/E40M/M40M/WD1Mi
  • +1200kcals
  • Make sure to take a few little snacks with you on your run.  I would advise a mixture of fat, protein and sugar will allow for enjoyment whilst running.
  • Try not to consume any more than 300kcals whilst out on the run.
·         Try to get at least 8+ portions of vegetables and fruit in on this day to help with recovery.  3,135 calories

3 portions of veg

Tough half, 2:09 ish (splits below)

Fulham Putney splits

Analysis

So, I clearly eat too much.

I need to keep a much more stringent eye on what I eat as it’s consistently 300 calories higher a day than it should be. Over ten days, that’s a 1lb gain.

I am reasonably happy with my cycling and my macronutrients split i.e. protein/fat/carbs though.

So basically, I’m eating what I need to, but just too much of it.

Onwards and upwards!

Leave a Reply

