The Long and Winding Road

Standard

This video was made as part of my bid to become an Ashmei ambassador, at the beginning of this year. It was a lot of fun to make!

Sometimes, I forget to stop and think about how far I’ve come in the last five or six years.

Back then, I was about five stone heavier (I never dared to weigh myself, and thought all of my clothes were shrinking due to incompetent washing machines).

I joined Slimming World, bought the recipe books and lost 8lbs in a week. Sticking to the new food list was hard. It hurt – physically. Drinking water and eating nothing but vegetables for months was a whole lifestyle change, not a diet.

Britney Spears

My asthma improved, my skin got better and my hair even started to grow. Mr Charming lost weight too by eating as normal for breakfast and lunch, and joining me in the SW dinner.

Now, I’m the heaviest I’ve been for about three years, following an exercise plan of running four/five/six times a week as well as a bit of swimming and exercise classes too. I know, most of the time, that this weight gain of five or six pounds is due to an increase in sweets and chocolate and pastry, not because it’s stopped working.  I know that a few weeks of cutting all of that out (one malteser leads to twenty, which leads to four biscuits, which leads to the dark side) coupled with marathon training, will get rid of those pounds.

Sometimes, you just need to look back at how far you’ve come to see where you’re going next.

running GGBridge

Leave a Reply

