Summer marathon training

Standard

laces!

So, following my sub four post, as of Monday June 9th, I am officially in Summer marathon training! Except I’m currently sitting on the couch trying to get rid of a viral respiratory thingy that’s been surreptitiously hanging around since Paris. Boo.

Don’t do as I do – I’ve done two half marathons, three 5 mile races and a 5k colour run (not to mention a 16mile where I though I was wading through literal treacle) in that time. I managed to get two 5mile PBs (including a sub 40, woop!) but every run has felt really hard. I have learned this lesson – next time I start feeling a bit lethargic I will rest. Definitely.

downhill profile, right?!

In this case, the heart is positively raring to get back on the sub 4 train, my body isn’t. But it’s okay, because this is Week ONE. I’d rather miss a whole week now than struggle on for another six, doing more damage to myself in the process.

Look at that elevation! Relatively downhill, although I’ve been told that there are some killer hills in there. Must do some proper hill training. There are some hills in Norwich. Somewhere…

Has anyone got any tips for summer training? I really don’t do well in the heat, as much as I love sunbathing. I’ve got a carrybag for water and plan to go out early or late – anything else I need to know?

buddies logo

I’m raising money for Buddies, by the way – my little brother, Dad and stepmother have had so much amazing support from them over the last couple of years, and found a community who understands the limitations as well as recognising that people with special needs can lead a normal life. If you feel like donating, the link is here – I would be so grateful. If you want to find out more about buddies, check their website out.

One thought on “Summer marathon training

  1. I drop a comment whenever I especially enjoy a article on a
    site or if I have something to add to the conversation.
    Usually it is a result of the passion displayed in the article
    I browsed. And on this post Summer marathon training | Fenland
    Tales. I was excited enough to post a thought
    🙂 I do have a couple of questions for you if you
    tend not to mind. Could it be just me or does it give the impression
    like some of the responses appear as if they are left by brain dead individuals?
    😛 And, if you are writing at additional places, I would like to keep up with you.
    Would you make a list all of all your community sites
    like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin
    profile?

Leave a Reply

